The Bar, Round 2

I got an awesome phone call yesterday from Barbri about my bar results. The “attorney” on the other end of the line told me I should study those areas where I didn’t score as high and figure out what I don’t understand or don’t know about those subjects. I’m not sure which is worse. The fact that I paid for the service, or that she was getting paid to call people up and tell them this kind of thing. Its like when I can’t find what I need at Best Buy, so I ask an associate, and he walks me over to the same place I was looking and tells me he doesn’t think they have what I need. Brilliant.

After her stunning interpretation of my scores, the Barbri attorney asked me why I thought I scored better on the Civil Procedure essays than on the other subjects. Simple, I said, I didn’t study Civil Procedure at all. She sounded incredulous and asked if I had done anything from their Barbri program on the subject. I said a little, but I spent the bulk of the time studying other subjects that I thought were weaker areas. When I sat down and took the exam, the first question was Civ Pro. I looked at the question and thought: hmm, I can’t remember the last time I looked at a civ pro outline, and I don’t remember any of the Barbri stuff, so here goes. Barbri Attorney said my recall from my original civ pro class must have been really good. I guess so, given that was over three years ago now. 

This entry was posted in legal profession and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

